PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New install, unresponsive on normal boot, ok in failsafe

Kaiya
November 26th, 2010, 07:37 PM
I'm very new to Linux. Last week I successfully installed Ubuntu/Gnome onto a 3 year old Toshiba Vista laptop which worked mostly brilliantly. Today I am trying to install it onto a 4 year old Toshiba XP laptop, but am having problems.

Laptop specs:
Intel 1.50GHz
488MB RAM
60GB HDD, partitioned by Ubuntu on install into 30GB/30GB, both partitions over 75% free space

The laptop, though old, still functions in XP, and the main reason we're switching it to Linux is that it has issues managing wireless, plus it's fun to do so - learning experience and all. The other laptop has better specs - multiply everything by 2 ;) but Windows was much less reliable as, after all, it is Vista, and switching to Linux there was a necessity.

The Ubuntu is 10.10 and it's the same live cd I used to install it onto the other laptop. It's installed alongside Windows XP and the install proceeded without issue. However when booting in normal mode it becomes unresponsive very quickly - sometimes as soon as the five pips on the loading screen become orange, the last time it lasted a whole 2 minutes before becoming unresponsive.

In failsafe graphics boot it runs without issue. The update manager tells me it's up to date, and I have installed Wine through SPM while typing this. It's behaving as I'd expect it to, with tiny lags on scrolling sometimes (perhaps related to being in failsafe graphics).

Is there some setting (graphics?) I should change to allow it to cope in normal mode? I'm aware 488MB RAM is slightly under the recommended amount, but it evidently can cope in failsafe so would appear to be enough to function?

Many thanks for any help!

viralmeme
November 26th, 2010, 07:50 PM
Many thanks for any help!

er .. check the BIOS settings ... PCI, ACPI etc ..

Rubi1200
November 26th, 2010, 07:54 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums :-)