PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Boot - Win 7 and 10.10 on Raid 0 - No Raid Detect

STM127
November 26th, 2010, 06:40 PM
I have installed Ubuntu on my m1530 since 8.04 and currently dual boot Win7 and 10.10. I would like to dual boot on my PC, but I have run into a problem. I am not a pro at Ubuntu, but this problem I can not solve by reading forums like I have in the past.

I realize this is a common problem, but I have noticed people having success.

I have a M4A87TD EVO MB with two Seagate drives in Raid 0. (The raid controller is a SB850 on that MB) I use the raid utility to create the raid drive that Windows7x64 uses. I have 2 partitions and 1 unused space. Partition 1 is Windows, partition 2 is for media, and the remaining unused space is for Ubuntu.

I am running ubuntu-10.10-desktop-amd64 off a Cruzer 16GB flash drive that was installed via Universal-USB-Installer-1.8.1.4.

My problem like so many others is that when I load into Ubuntu, gparted detects two separate hard drives instead of the raid. I read that this is because kpartx is not installed on 10.10. I then went in LiveCD mode and downloaded kpartx from Synaptic Manager. Gparted still reported two drives. I opened terminal and run a few commands with kpartx. I received an error. (Forgive me I didn't write it down, but I believe it said something about a communication error. I will try again later and see.)

Currently I am reflashing the Cruzer with a persistence of 4GB. I am not familiar with this process, but I understand that my LiveCD boot will save information I download to it. I decided to try this method because I was going to install kpartx and reboot to see if this made a difference.