PDA

View Full Version : Linux distributions and such?

HeZ
November 25th, 2010, 10:13 AM
Hi all i'm new to the nix world.
Just finished my first year of software engineering and thought it is high time to move away from Microsoft.

Can any1 give me the quick rundown of what distributions there are and how they differ?
Eg i know OSX runs on darwin
my maemo phone runs on fremantle
i have heard the names QT and redhat and all the *untu's and gentoo etc etc

Is a couple fundamental distributions that everything else is build on or are they all independent of each other?
The ones that are independent of each other, is there a great difference in the syntax of commands and such?
like there is a huge difference between using the command prompt on win7 and x terminal on my phone.

I have Ubuntu installed on my laptop (the only 386 i own) but i would like to have a dual boot/use vm to use linux on my desktops/server which are all intel 64bit.
Can anyone suggest a good distribution to use?

Thanks
HeZ

Rondonjin
November 25th, 2010, 10:18 AM
There's a brief description of each distro here:

http://distrowatch.com/

Download a a few of the most popular LiveCDs and take them for a spin.

Sean Moran
November 25th, 2010, 10:32 AM
Hi all i'm new to the nix world.
Just finished my first year of software engineering and thought it is high time to move away from Microsoft.

Can any1 give me the quick rundown of what distributions there are and how they differ?
Eg i know OSX runs on darwin
my maemo phone runs on fremantle
i have heard the names QT and redhat and all the *untu's and gentoo etc etc

Is a couple fundamental distributions that everything else is build on or are they all independent of each other?
The ones that are independent of each other, is there a great difference in the syntax of commands and such?
like there is a huge difference between using the command prompt on win7 and x terminal on my phone.