PDA

View Full Version : Free vs. Non-Free codecs

therunnyman
April 20th, 2006, 05:08 AM
Now, I'm not a lawyer, but I play one on teevee (and in jail)...

Let's start with MP3. The hubub wasn't about whether ot not you could listen to or modify an MP3 - that has always been perfectly legal - it was about the Record Industry's paranoia, and that's it. The only time you'd have to pay a royalty to MPEG or Fraunhofer (Fraunhofer invented the codec, MPEG adopted, over MiniDisc's codec, even) if you intended to encode something to MP3 for public broadcast (MP3's initial purpose). Nowadays, most CD-R software pays that royalty for you, so no worries.

You may always copy a CD: consider it "backup." The standard for audio CDs doesn't include any copy protection, so if someone places copy protection on a CD, they can't put that little "CD" icon on the disc. Of course, there have been attempts to protect CDs, but they're generally cracked the the minute they come out. If someone came at you, you have an excellent counterclaim.

Sharing MP3s of copyrighted work using whatever - Limewire - is illegal, but, as with anything, there are degrees of illegality. In this instance, we'll go with "petty crime," akin to urination in public. The RIAA (the litigating arm of the Record Industry, among other things) tried to make examples out of various people, ending up making asses of themselves. Remember the single mother who was sued for a couple million because her daughter had downloaded some MP3s? Or Metallica's suit against its fans? Now bring in iTunes and Napster; I believe the litigation is over. If not, here's a handy tip:

"Back off man, I'm a scientist."

If you can figure a way to include MP3 in your livelihood, they have to leave you alone. My own war with the RIAA bore that out.