PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Choice of printer

Holonet
November 24th, 2010, 03:09 AM
Just wondering if anyone has any experiences to share about printers. I'd like one that works well with Ubuntu, but that's almost back-burner to just the quality of the printer.

I've had some bad experiences...one with a Canon, which I found happened to be the one printer with a known issue with recognizing a cartridge...unfixable. And the one I have now is an Epson CX9400F, which I have refillable cartridges for. It was ok for a while...never great. The cartridges work fine, but even before those, and now acutely, the printer head is sort of effed.

I've seen some nice HP printers...noticed a few universities get those. Anyway...to the point.

What I'm looking for is a nice printer (without getting carried away over $500 and such) which lends itself well to one of the refillable cartridges sold out there and, of course, has no glaring issues in Linux. All-in-ones are fine (that's what I have now) but not necessary to me if it fits those criteria well. Thoughts?

lyall
November 24th, 2010, 04:50 AM
Have you looked a laserjet printers?

they are cheaper in the long run to use, prices are down now

I like the Lexmark the best, because we use them at where I work.
We have little problems with them. We had the Lexmark T630s series and had over 400,000 print outs and they still were working when we replaced them. we are on a 5 year replacement cycle. We are now using the T640s printer with duplexing and two additional 500 sheets trays for over two years now. Some have over 250,000 print outs on them and we are starting to replace the fuser in them. We have over 100 of these units. We also have the Lexmark color laserjets the C534dn and the C544dn over 25 of them. I have at this time replaced only 2 sets of the photo-conductors in them and both of them had over 250,000 print outs in the last two years.