PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu 10.10 Dual boot, newbie question

JojAGT
November 23rd, 2010, 04:40 AM
Hi all!
Well just let me tell you that I'm a total newbie on ubuntu, so please forgive me for that. #-o

All right, want I want to do is to have both OS, win7 and ubuntu 10.10 and I was reading a "How to dual boot with ubuntu" on here https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot

So I read everything, but I still have some questions I hope this site of the forum is the right place to ask.

Ok, so I have 2 partitions, in the first partition I have win7 on it and a have a second partition (50gygs) that is NTDS where I want to install ubuntu.

1) In that guide, it mentioned that Win vista doesn't have the same boot system that winXP has, so you have a prosidure for Win vista that it's explained there. So my question is. Is it the same procedure on win7?

2)On that guide they suggest you to do a Backup of your data. I don't really want to do it. So my second question is: Does ubuntu format my disk? or can I just install it on my second partition

3) I was reading that ubuntu should be installed on a ext4 format disk (Read a guide for double booting with ubuntu 9.10),but i didn't saw anything of that on that guide. And if my partition need a different type of partition, how can I take it from NFTS to ext4.

cwa
November 23rd, 2010, 04:48 AM
"2)On that guide they suggest you to do a Backup of your data. I don't really want to do it. So my second question is: Does ubuntu format my disk? or can I just install it on my second partition"

You should always back up, even if you don't want to. I have learned many hard lessons of not having backups or current backups. Unless you truly don't care about your data or need it. But ubuntu can/does/will format your disk, but it will only format what you tell it to format. and you can choose to partition your hard drive so that you can install it where you want to.