PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installin 10.10

pjrandall
November 22nd, 2010, 05:39 AM
I just got a Tablet PC, and I installed Ubuntu on it. But, problem is, I tried to install 10.10, and it would install properly, but it wouldn't load, just brought up the GRUB loader with a terminal prompt. I ended up having to install 7.04, and it works great. but I'd like to upgrade it. any suggestions?

Favux
November 22nd, 2010, 07:32 AM
Hi pjrandall,

It's probably the video chipset that's the problem. Find out what it is:

lspci | grep VGA
I'll bet it's that Intel GMA whatever. I think there's an update for it.

pjrandall
November 22nd, 2010, 09:11 AM
uh.... ok. How do I do all that? Sorry, I'm a newb. :P

pjrandall
November 22nd, 2010, 09:20 AM
Hi pjrandall,

It's probably the video chipset that's the problem. Find out what it is:

lspci | grep VGA
I'll bet it's that Intel GMA whatever. I think there's an update for it.
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller (rev 03)

Those are the results I got from your code.

pontdecheruy
November 22nd, 2010, 09:29 AM
I'm running Ubuntu 10.4LTS since two months now,i'm happy with it but i can't update to ubuntu 10.10 maverick.It wont boot after i upgrade to 10.10.
Is there just because i didn't do clean installation for ubuntu on my C:/ partition but it's installed within windows? Or some other reasons???
Please help, your help is appreciated!
Thanks in advance
A.F

lordpaladin
November 22nd, 2010, 11:22 AM
i made the same mistake with 10.10 64-bit dual booting with windows xp 32 bit
i freshly installed ubuntu on a partition with / as mount point, ext4 format, in the beginning and as primary
when i boot to ubuntu i get the grub terminal with prompt.
i just found out that i made a wrong installation procedure based from one of the persons who helped me here.
i should never installed the boot loader to the same partition where i will install ubuntu.