PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Grub fails to be written in boot sector

objet petit a
November 21st, 2010, 09:33 PM
Hello everybody, I am a complete noob at this and I need a hand. I was about to throw my computer out of the window when I decided to throw the windows out of the computer so to speak. So, I downloaded Ubuntu 10.10 and tried to install. I had a grub rescue after the installation (file system unknown), which I have seen discussed here. Being the noob that I am I decided to try 10.04 because it said it had full support. With this install I get a similar error during installation: grub cannot be installed in boot sector.

So, basically there is an issue with grub and the boot sector. I checked in my BIOS options to see if there was an option that prevented the writing of a boot sector or something, but I have not been able something like that. So, I am wondering if it is possible that Ubuntu does not really erase/format the selected disks or something, leaving any difficulty there.

Does anybody know? Or better yet: what exactly do I need to do a manual grub install? Or anything else that springs into your thoughts concerning this might also be helpful. Thanks in advance.

sikander3786
November 21st, 2010, 09:48 PM
Welcome to Ubuntu and the Forums :-)

Which system is it? Please refer to the system documentation regarding boot sector lock up.

If Grub was not able to get installed during the installation process, it might well fail yet again while doing a manual install.

Please post your System specs so we can try and might eventually find something useful regarding the MBR problem.

objet petit a
November 21st, 2010, 10:42 PM
I am working on an Asus P6T Deluxe V2, with an INTEL I7 920 (2,66GHz Quad, Socket 1366) and two 64GB OCZ Vertex 2 SATA II 2.5" SSD's.

Good point concerning the manual install failing again btw.

--edit--
Thanks for the warm welcome and the speedy reply btw.
:)

lmarmisa
November 22nd, 2010, 01:59 AM