PDA

View Full Version : Machine Learning - how to begin?

Tapas Bose, India
November 21st, 2010, 08:12 AM
Hello everybody.
I am studying Masters in Computer Application and my course is going to end. In the mean time I joined a software company as a trainee. Our COO is intended to do some work on machine learning and he appointed me for this purpose. But I don't know anything about machine learning. He told me take your time, study the subject and inform me about your progress. But I don't know how to start, where to start, which books should I read. He wants me to do some programming on this topic using JAVA. I googled and found some API like WEKA, JAVA-ML etc. If anybody suggest anything regarding these matter, where to start, which book should read to start working on machine learning it will be very helpful to me. I am a beginner.
I will wait for your responses.
Thank you.

worksofcraft
November 21st, 2010, 08:27 AM
Our COO is intended to do some work on machine learning.

The most up-to-date machine learning I have worked on is called "neural networks". It is a simulation of how organic brains work and it is used in applications like image and speech recognition.

Tapas Bose, India
November 21st, 2010, 08:30 AM
The most up-to-date machine learning I have worked on is called "neural networks". It is a simulation of how organic brains work and it is used in applications like image and speech recognition.

Thank you. Can you please tell me which book should I read to learn machine learning?

worksofcraft
November 21st, 2010, 09:43 AM
Thank you. Can you please tell me which book should I read to learn machine learning?
I was a hardware test engineer and I learnt programming as a hobby. I picked things up from people I worked with so I only have practical experience.

You can start exploring neural networks right here on the www (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neural_network) :)

lisati
November 21st, 2010, 09:48 AM