PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Intel Integrated Graphics Adapter on Toshiba L650

harris.sw
November 21st, 2010, 02:50 AM
I was given a new Toshiba Satellite L650 with an intel i5 processor that has and Integrated Graphics Adapter. I am new to Ubuntu and am trying to get rid of Windows 7 and use Ubuntu 10.10 I can't get enhanced video to work (3d, compositing). System-Administration-Additional Drivers does not show any graphics adapter.

Looking around forums it looks like I need to download intel specific drivers. I got them from intellinuxgraphics.org and I downloaded the 2010Q2 drivers.
Sudo ./confiugre works fine
Sudo make I get the following error on the end:

checking for XORG... configure: error: Package requirements (xorg-server >= 1.6 xproto fontsproto ) were not met:

No package 'xorg-server' found
No package 'fontsproto' found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables XORG_CFLAGS
and XORG_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.

My questions:
1. Should getting this driver installed make they system work?
2. If so, what do I need to do to finish installing the driver.

Sorry but a newbie here and trying my best!

harris.sw
November 24th, 2010, 04:28 PM
Any suggestions where else I can look to try and get this to work?

mikewhatever
November 24th, 2010, 05:07 PM
Hey, don't really have the solution for you, just wanted to say that others report desktop effects working with Intel's i5.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=10147613#post10147613
That said, graphical performance is nowhere near compared to Windows.

harris.sw
November 27th, 2010, 09:18 PM