PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Advice for Software / Package Management

dcaunt
November 19th, 2010, 06:33 PM
Hi all.

I'm new to Ubuntu Server (though I have some experience with SUSE and Solaris) and I'm setting up a new server environment. I'd like some advice about the best way to manage software installation / configuration, given the setup I'm trying to achieve.

First a little background about the setup I'm planning: I intend to install Ubuntu 10.10 Server on a Dell PowerEdge 2950 that has hardware-based RAID 1 (2 physical disks). Using KVM, I then would like to install two guest servers (also Ubuntu 10.10 Server) on that host. One will be a LAMP server. The other will be a streaming media server (using Wowza Media Server). The media being served is on a fiber-attached SAN (EMC Clariion) if that matters.

My foremost question (as I already mentioned) is about software management. The documentation covers APT (APT-GET and APTITUDE), but I know there are other ways to go about it (from source, for instance). Can anyone with LAMP experience give me advice about the best way to manage software installation / upgrade? Is APT-GET the best way? By "best" I mean easiest to use for day-to-day upgrades, as well as robust enough to allow for further configuration. For example, I'm somewhat of a beginner when it comes to PHP installation/configuration. If I'm going to be installing extensions later (OCI8 and CURL for now, but probably more later) would I be better off installing AMP from source, or will APT-GET allow me all the flexibility I'll need to configure/tweak extensions and other add-ons for Apache, MySQL, and PHP?

Any other advice that may come to mind, given the setup, is certainly welcome.

Thanks.
Dan

Zookalicious
November 19th, 2010, 07:12 PM
Hi there dcaunt, first of all welcome to the Ubuntu forums!