PDA

View Full Version : Failure to boot after installation

jhupp85
November 19th, 2010, 04:27 AM
Hello--I'm new to the linux/ubuntu community. I have been attempting booting my new, bare system with both a flash drive, and a freshly acquired .iso/CD for 64-bit Ubuntu 10.10. both let me run it live from said sources, and let me 'install' Ubuntu. I'm currently *in* said Live mode, and life couldn't be greater--this OS is sleek, open; I'm in love . . .
However, when I reboot, all is for naught. here are there error messages I am receiving.

for the first time after clicking 'suspend', i the installation (shutdown was not an option, just hibernate/suspend):

(process: 443): GLib-WARNING **: getpwuid_r(): failed due to unknown user ID (0)

after reconfiguring BIOS to boot from HD:

error: hd0,msdos1 out of disk.
error: no suitable mode found.

error: cannot read the Linux header.
error: you need to load the kernel first.
Failed to boot both default and fallback entries.

. . . nothing sticks. any ideas? Again, I am an Ubuntu virgin. my grandmother raised me in a DOS prompt, though. is it a HD error? I can see it mounted on the desktop. . . any help would be truly appreciated

-jhupp

jhupp85
November 20th, 2010, 10:13 PM
I have recently tried the non-GUI alternate install as well, to no avail. Performed memtest, and the RAM is fine.

Utterly clueless on how to proceed! Anyone??

mionescu
November 20th, 2010, 11:14 PM
Did you press suspend right after you finished installing Ubuntu? Did you press suspend from the live CD? If you install Ubuntu, it should reboot the system for you; that is, you should see a message telling you to press any key to reboot (and not to suspend) once the installation is finished.
Can you describe in more details the steps you did? It seems to me that you suspended the computer from the live CD. If I am right, then the error is normal, because you don't use the CD anymore.

jhupp85
November 21st, 2010, 07:08 AM