PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Gnome-panel 100%

IanWood
November 19th, 2010, 12:02 AM
Hi all,

Hope you can help.

I am using 9.10 64Bit with 4CPUS, 8Gig of ram and a Matrox M9120 PCIe x16 card driving 3 screens with the latest Matrox driver.

About once a week of so my system freezes - the mouse pointer still moves but the clock doesn't tick on and nothing responds.

I can however ssh on to it. When I do a top Xorg is at the top. If I am able to ssh -X and run gnome-system-monitor I see that gnome-panel is using the most CPU and a whole core is maxed out.

It seems to happen when I start a certain Java application, but as I am a Java developer this may be a coincidence.

What can I do to fix this? Would this problem be in 10.04 too?

Thanks in advance,

Ian

IanWood
November 19th, 2010, 11:29 AM
Further to this.

Having killed gnome-panel in the process monitor I was able to use the computer again.

Also during the day I noticed that the "desktop" stopped working, i.e. no icons and I couldn't change the background picture. After killing the gnome-panel the background picture changed to the one I had tried to change to before.

Any ideas?

Ian

tom4everitt
November 19th, 2010, 09:27 PM
Hi, I'm running 10.04 and encounter the same problem every once in a while as well. I don't think it is correlated to any java app though, it seems more random then that. Thanks for the tip of killing the gnome-panel, I will try that next time it happens!

IanWood
November 21st, 2010, 07:29 PM
Hi Tom,

Thanks for your replay and sorry to hear you have the same problem every now and then.

I did some Googleing and saw people having similar problems a while ago and it seemed to be related to how many things where open at a time.

I am using 10.04 32bit at home and never have this problem, well not that I can remember any way.

Are you using 32 or 64 bit and which card and how many screens?

Ian

tom4everitt
November 21st, 2010, 08:19 PM