PDA

View Full Version : left and top menus and desktop not displaying

AndyGaskell
November 18th, 2010, 01:41 PM
Hi Everyone

I've been using Ubuntu for several years, and wanted to try the netbook remix on my old Acer Aspire 5050 laptop.

I tried to install and switch from desktop 10.10 to netbook 10.10, and the home page and menus didn't display properly. I took this as being due to some conflict with an exiting bit of software (I use it as a LAMP server and dev machine, so it had a lot of stuff one it). Keen to try the netbook edition, and clean down my laptop, I installed in from scratch, formatting the HDD etc.

Anyway, the issue is still the same.

It is quite hard to describe what is displayed. The left menu is just empty, with no icons. The top bar is also empty. When you mouse over the left menu, blank pop-outs appear. Also, some icons are blank or mangled. Occasionally, when I close a dialogue, or do an alt-tab, the left menu icons appear, but only for a split second.

Anyway, screen dumps (reduced to half size) will explain this better, so here are a couple...

Top and left menus showing as empty semi transparent bars.
http://ssofb.co.uk/uploads/photos/Screenshot-1-small.png

Same with an app running
http://ssofb.co.uk/uploads/photos/Screenshot-2-small.png

with mouse over a left menu item, and a blank pop-out with black surround.
http://ssofb.co.uk/uploads/photos/Screenshot-3-small.png

Some hardware info...
AMD Turion 64 Mobile Technology MK-36 (2.0 GHz, 512 KB L2 cache)
ATI Radeon® Xpress 1100
14.1" WXGA Acer CrystalBrite™ TFT LCD, 1280 x 800 pixels

Any ideas? Is this an ok place to post this query?
Cheers

AndyGaskell
November 18th, 2010, 02:31 PM
I guess this may be a Unity and AMD/ATI graphics issue, after reading some of the Unity mega thread at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1610637

BoomShiqua
December 1st, 2010, 11:31 PM