PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Lynx (kermic to) installation/livecd not working

mccarthyl
November 17th, 2010, 02:28 AM
Hello, I hope that someone can help me as I am not sure where else to turn, I am new to ubuntu (to unix as a whole in fact) I had used it a few years ago but decided to give it another try because xp went BSOD. I am attempting to load the system on to my think-pad t40. A few days ago (shortly before I decided to drop windows) I installed a better processor and added more RAM (I desperately hope it is not so, but i feel that this holds potential to be the source of my problems) after becoming sick of blue screens I decided to give ubuntu another try (originally because I suspected it to be an quick easy installation)I downloaded the newest version, 10.01, and burned the image to a cd, I popped it in my drive started up the machine, the install screen appeared, i clicked install and followed the steps, after installation I was left at the desktop as I do after most installations I restarted my computer, upon restart system booted into ubuntu did not reach the desktop, I shut it down and tried again to no avail. I attempted the installation many different times on multiply hard drives with multiple versions of ubuntu, the results of these attempts were very similar to the original with a few variations. At this point When i boot from the cd it boots to the install screen but this install screen seems to be less flashy than the first one i saw, most of the time when I select an option from the menu such as install I receive about a screens worth of text with various page faults and error codes, the cd stops spinning and I am left with a blinking cursor on the bottom of the screen. Other times after I select an option from the install screen i get a blinking cursor for a second then the cd stops spinning and the computer restarts. Please help me to get this system on my computer. I will gladly provide any more information necessary.

mörgæs