PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Win XP on one HDD, Ubuntu on second HDD, Files Stored on a third HDD

Tsui Pen
November 14th, 2010, 10:46 PM
Hi,

I am new to Linux and and have a basic understanding of computers. I tried searching for an answer in different threads, but none seemed to apply to me. I apologize in advance if I overlooked a thread. There are 4 interrelated questions I have.

1. I have three HDDs. HDD 1 is running Windows XP, and HDD 2 is just used as storage. I just bought my third HDD and plan on using it for storage. I want to start fresh and I will be formatting HDD 1 and 2, and only use HDD 3 as storage. My first question is: Do I install Ubuntu or Win XP first? Does it matter? If so, what implications does this have if I later need to format one of the HDDs?

2. I want to install Win XP on one HDD and Ubuntu on another. I saw a tutorial here, but it apparently did not apply to GRUB2, which is what the latest version of Ubuntu uses. I have looked on the internet, but none start from a fresh formatted drive, which, in my mind, seems like the simplest way of doing this entire process. Does anyone know of a really good tutorial for installing the latest Ubuntu on one HDD and Win XP on another?

3. I've read that some people don't get the dual-boot startup screen and some fudging around is needed. This is completely unknown territory for me, but I am willing to learn how to do it. I see many ways of doing it but I'm not sure which one to choose based on my situation. Can anyone recommend specific steps to follow, given that I will have two formatted HDDs? (If this even matters.)

4. Will both HDDs be able to read HDD 3 (used for storage)?

My motherboard is an nForce 750i SLI. I believe it has 4 SATA connectors, of which 2 are in use. And I just bought my third HDD which I plan on connecting using SATA.

Please let me know if you need more information on my PC specs.

I really appreciate all the help, even if they are just links.

Steven

oldfred