PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] wubi installation keeps crashing on updates

Exorbio
November 14th, 2010, 07:50 PM
Hello all, I'm very new to Linux and Ubuntu (about 2 days) and am having a hard time getting Ubuntu to work. I'm not completely sure that I'm posting in the right forum since I have several issues. I can't tell what's causing what.

I'm using the wubi installer for version 10.10 (i386 - 32 bit). I have an AMD 64-bit, but the wubi installer for that only crashes when I try to boot it the very first time. I get a blank screen and my tower is silent. Version 10.04 does the same. Version 10.10 is the only one that gets me somewhere.

So, I installed ndiswrapper and the proper driver for my USB adapter. Now I have 2 main problems:

1). the most relevant to this board is that when I use the update manager to get all 135 updates, I'm prompted to reboot to complete the installation. When I do that, i get the same blank screen and silent tower treatment. Oddly enough however, when I went back to windows, uninstalled ubuntu, then reinstalled it again using wubi, the update manager said that I already updated an hour ago (!?!?.. I assume it's still reading the old files from the previous install attempt). Unfortunately I messed it up anyway trying to fix my second problem...

2). my internet connection fails here and there. I don't know if it's ndiswrapper or the driver or what. Once it fails, it won't reconnect. I have to go into ndiswrapper, delete the current driver and reinstall it. This has happened to me while on the internet (scouring these forums) and while downloading the updates and whenever it feels like it.

Also, the system does freeze up on me here and there as well. Sometimes when I'm using ndiswrapper. Sometimes when I'm authenticating myself. Sometimes in update manager and sometimes in synaptic.
Right now it's working. But I haven't updated yet and I'm afraid to try.

Sorry If I've been too wordy about all of this.
Please help...

bcbc