PDA

View Full Version : Notebook with decent gpu and battery.

aussiedwarf
November 14th, 2010, 02:40 PM
Hi all, I'm looking for a new laptop to replace my current 4 year old dell inspiron. I'm in 3rd year of uni studying computer science and and am also working as a programmer. Some of the software I'm using and building is quite cpu intensive so I need a decent cpu. Some of them are also gpu intensive and I'm starting to experiment with cuda. I'm also trying to future proof my self so I'm hoping for something that is opengl 4.1/directX 11 compatible.

It also needs to have a decent battery life. I'm hoping for 4+ hours on a light load for taking notes in class and general surfing.

I was thinking of a i5 with nvidia 420-460 but linux does not seem to be compatible with Optimus meaning I need a i7 or to be able to turn off one of the graphics chipsets in the bios.

My price range is $1000 - $3000, and even up to $4000 if need be.

Can anyone recommend a laptop with a decent gpu and good battery?

alababi
November 14th, 2010, 03:47 PM
Hi all, I'm looking for a new laptop to replace my current 4 year old dell inspiron. I'm in 3rd year of uni studying computer science and and am also working as a programmer. Some of the software I'm using and building is quite cpu intensive so I need a decent cpu. Some of them are also gpu intensive and I'm starting to experiment with cuda. I'm also trying to future proof my self so I'm hoping for something that is opengl 4.1/directX 11 compatible.

It also needs to have a decent battery life. I'm hoping for 4+ hours on a light load for taking notes in class and general surfing.

I was thinking of a i5 with nvidia 420-460 but linux does not seem to be compatible with Optimus meaning I need a i7 or to be able to turn off one of the graphics chipsets in the bios.

My price range is $1000 - $3000, and even up to $4000 if need be.

Can anyone recommend a laptop with a decent gpu and good battery?
with this budget, I recommend a vaio Z