PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 10.04 -> 10.10 -> no boot!

tunist
November 13th, 2010, 04:23 PM
hi all,

i just upgraded an install of 10.04 to 10.10 using the built-in software upgrade manager and upon reboot i am seeing the 'basic grub' command line interface.

the laptop is a dell inspiron 6400 and is set to dual boot within win7.

i originally installed ubuntu from inside windows (if i recall correctly) - so there doesn't appear to be a specific partition for ubuntu visible anwhere.. i guess it must be some kind of hidden file structure on the c: drive that is being used for windows.

can anyone give me any tips or links to pages that can explain how to resolve this?

i've read through the notes that i have found on the ubuntu website so far and have seen people describe a similar outcome, but not when upgrading in exactly the way that i have done.

i'm pretty new to linux so don't really know where to start..

i don't really have a problem with wiping the whole hard drive and starting again.. except that i have some data on the linux 'partition' that i'd like to get off first.. and i am not able to locate it through win7.. i just installed the app from http://fs-driver.org to see if that helped, but it didn't detect any linux data as far as i can see.

anyone?
thanks

Rubi1200
November 13th, 2010, 04:50 PM
Are you still able to boot into Windows?

See here also:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/MaverickMeerkat/ReleaseNotes#Known%20Issues

kansasnoob
November 13th, 2010, 04:52 PM
If I understand correctly you can not boot either Windows or Ubuntu now, is that correct?

tunist
November 13th, 2010, 05:07 PM
ah yes, i forgot to add that..
i am able to boot into windows, yes.

Rubi1200
November 13th, 2010, 05:44 PM
From what you describe, you have a Wubi installation.

See here for an explanation of the problem and possible solution:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=9932369&postcount=5

tunist
November 13th, 2010, 08:06 PM
thanks for the link..