PDA

View Full Version : A complete C++ beginner in need!

pooke
November 13th, 2010, 03:40 PM
Hello,

I'm a complete C++ beginner but I'd really like to get going.

I've been looking into some cryptography (just to test things out, of course I'm starting from level 1).

I use Geany if that makes sense in here. Whenever I compile and build some easy examples from, let's say Botan, I always get a:

#include botan/(header file here) not found or regognized

Compile error

It happens with basically any header files. When I do "#include <boost/math.h>" (or how u write it.. sorry).

The compiler says the header files cannot be found.

Something like that. And when I build a GTK application from an example, I get "gtk/ui_gtk.h not found" (just roughly from my memory). They are in the same directory! I don't get it.

I have all compilers installed.

Regards,
pooke

Arndt
November 13th, 2010, 06:09 PM
Hello,

I'm a complete C++ beginner but I'd really like to get going.

I've been looking into some cryptography (just to test things out, of course I'm starting from level 1).

I use Geany if that makes sense in here. Whenever I compile and build some easy examples from, let's say Botan, I always get a:

#include botan/(header file here) not found or regognized

Compile error

It happens with basically any header files. When I do "#include <boost/math.h>" (or how u write it.. sorry).

The compiler says the header files cannot be found.

Something like that. And when I build a GTK application from an example, I get "gtk/ui_gtk.h not found" (just roughly from my memory). They are in the same directory! I don't get it.

I have all compilers installed.

Regards,
pooke

The compiler presumably should be told the place (or places) where to start looking for header files. That is typically done with the -I option.

Some packages come with a special script which outputs just what the compiler needs, but many don't.

pooke
November 13th, 2010, 07:18 PM
Hello.

Thanks!