PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on publishing a book

theraje
November 13th, 2010, 12:20 PM
Well, as some of you know, I'm working on a game written with HTML5 and JavaScript. A lot of this is uncharted territory, as the implementation of HTML5 is a pretty recent phenomenon, and with most browser teams working on optimizing JavaScript engine performance. There are no books currently available for programming games with HTML5 and JavaScript, and the earliest release for such a book is slated for March 2011.

This got me thinking... with what I'm learning, I could possibly write a book on the matter, and potentially publish my book before March (though it could very well not work out that way).

The thing is, my knowledge of JavaScript isn't really what I would consider "strong". I am still learning, and have accomplished a fair amount, but I am a little apprehensive about my knowledge of the ins and outs of JavaScript. I'm concerned that I might inadvertently teach improper practices.

For example, if there is some "preferred" way to perform a certain procedure, and I do it in a way that doesn't really meet the standard, I'm worried that will harm the overall value of the book.

Is there a happy medium here? Should I focus more on just getting games made, or should I give the book idea the old college try? Hopefully I'll be able to answer this question for myself with a little discussion, and maybe a few tips and suggestions from you guys.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you'll give me some *honest* feedback!

Lucradia
November 13th, 2010, 01:35 PM
Most how-to books, etc. are just opinions most of the time. Any new guides is just added to the big pile.