PDA

View Full Version : Suspected problem in GRUB boot loader

Talruk6
November 13th, 2010, 07:50 AM
I suspect that the problem here is the GRUB boot loader, but I should start at the beginning of how I got to that conclusion because I'm somewhat new at this.

I decided to dual boot from a computer with Windows 7, using Ubuntu 10.04, 64-bit.

I had to alter the BIOS to make the computer boot first from the CD, and hard-drive after. I then partitioned the hard-drive easily using the GUI installer, and the whole installation went off without a hitch.

After that I restarted and went into Windows 7 and it wanted to scan my disk for errors, which I allowed. I think it's possible that the scan messed with the GRUB boot loader.

After Windows 7 scanned for errors, I logged in normally. After I rebooted after that, however, I got the following error message:

no module name found.
Aborted. Press any key to exit.

No boot device available
Strike the F1 key to reboot, F2 to run the setup utility

SATA1: Installed
SATA2: Installed
SATA3: None
SATA4: None
SATA5: None

Whenever I reboot with the CD tray empty, I get the above error message.

When I rebooted with the linux install CD I was able to use the Live mode to access firefox and post this.

To compound this whole mess, I noticed after the error message that the original install CD was somewhat scratched, and I wonder if that may have played a part in this whole mess.

What I think I need to do is get a fresh disc and reinstall the GRUB boot loader using the Live mode. I don't know enough about the command line to know how exactly what to type to do that though.

Thanks in advance for the help, and for bothering to read this very long post.

Rubi1200
November 13th, 2010, 12:27 PM
Resizing Windows 7 partitions MUST be done with the built-in Disk Management tools in Windows 7. You should then reboot a few times and run chkdsk if necessary to make sure Windows is "happy."