PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install Ubuntu on an xserve 3,1



larsribe
November 11th, 2010, 01:02 PM
Hi all Ubuntu wizards,
I have been trying to install Ubuntu on an xserve 3,1 for the last couple of days with no luck.
If I try to use the newest Ubuntu or Debian installer (64 bit), it stops quite fast.
The output of the last, relevant lines are approx:
List of all partitions:
No filesystem could mount root, tried:
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(1,0)

The lines in grub.cfg is:
fakebios
linux/path/to/linux videofb=efifb noefi
initrd /path/to/initrd

I also tried without the noefi.
I have also tried with a slackware with the same result.
The kernel version for the Debian (which I tried the most) was 2.6.32.

The strange thing is that I have a net install from a Debian stable that starts up perfectly!! The kernel version is here 2.6.26-2. The problem with this one is that it has no working driver for the network :-(

So, has anyone a running version of Ubuntu on an xserve 3,1? Or any idea about how to circumvent the problems?

Please let me know if you need more info.


Best,

Lars

linuxopjemac
November 11th, 2010, 01:17 PM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Xserve1-1
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Xserve2-1
http://blog.christophersmart.com/2009/07/23/linux-on-an-apple-xserve-efi-only-machine/

larsribe
November 11th, 2010, 02:34 PM
Hi linuxopjemac
Thanks for a quick reply.
I have tried all of these, but with no luck. None of them describe the current hardware with the newest kernels.

metatechbe
November 11th, 2010, 06:03 PM
Hi Lars,

The error message is very close to the error message that occurs with the latest Linux kernels in combination with grub 1.98.
Please try with grub-trunk, see instructions :
http://grub.enbug.org/TestingOnMacbook

Regards,

metatech

larsribe
November 12th, 2010, 11:19 AM
Hi metatech
Thanks for the hint! I really don't get that I didn't see it myself :)
Now, I have a different problem:
I followed the instructions, but end up with "Error: no suitable mode found" when trying the linux command in grub. Is that what can be expected if the framebuffer doesn't know about my hardware? We never got the the ram disk, so I will have to patch the c-file and compile a kernel, right?

Best,
Lars

larsribe
November 12th, 2010, 02:02 PM
To ask this another way: Can I obtain a precompiled grub.efi expected to work on an xserve and a new kernel?

metatechbe
November 12th, 2010, 02:17 PM
I followed the instructions, but end up with "Error: no suitable mode found" when trying the linux command in grub. Is that what can be expected if the framebuffer doesn't know about my hardware? We never got the the ram disk, so I will have to patch the c-file and compile a kernel, right?

Best,
Lars

Hi Lars,
The solution for the error message can be found here :
http://www.mail-archive.com/bug-grub@gnu.org/msg12651.html
It means grub cannot detect the graphics properties.
On my machine, it also reports it, but because the efifb.c has the correct FrameBufferBase value, it can be ignored : the kernel is able to display the console.

metatech