PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with two partition plans

zhaotianwu
November 9th, 2010, 09:27 AM
I want to reload windows xp + Ubuntu from scratch, I have no experience with dual-boot installation so any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Now we start with a blank 250GB harddrive in my Samsung N310 netbook, and then,
Plan 1:
partition the whole 250GB harddrive into 2 logical disk, namely drive c: and d:, both of them are NTFS, and then format them ==> install windows xp to Drive C: ==> boot from USB drive and run Ubuntu USB installer, and let the installer do its partition for Linux's EXT3

Plan2:
partition the whole 250GB harddrive into 3 logical disk, namely drive c:, d: and e:, with drive c: and d: being NTFS while drive e: being EXT3 ==> install windows xp to Drive c: ==> install Ubuntu directly to drive E:

The bottom line here is that 1) there must be 2 logical drives (both are NTFS) for windows xp; 2) I want a EXT3 partition where Ubuntu resides. Can any expert kindly advise me which plan mentioned above is more viable or feasible? Thanks a lot.

Quackers
November 9th, 2010, 12:29 PM
What I would suggest is making 2 partitions formatted in NTFS for your Windows system and leave unallocated space for Ubuntu to install itself in.
Once Windows is installed and running you can then boot from the Ubuntu Live cd/usb and at the partitioning phase in the installer select the manual partitioning option. You can then choose to install Ubuntu in the unallocated space.

dino99
November 9th, 2010, 12:37 PM
plan 3:

install xp on c: , dont format the free space

let the ubuntu installer install ubuntu on the free space: 3partitions: / (root, bootable, ~ 12Gb, ext4), swap ~ 2Gb, /home (ext3 or ext4, all the space you need), grub2 installed to boot both ubuntu & xp