PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Java: Beginner problems

fallenshadow
November 8th, 2010, 09:32 PM
I am having some stupid problems with the very simple beginnings of using a class in Java. It happens on the line where I attempt to use the class... apparently it cant find the class.

Please look at these very small files attached.

PS: By very small I mean tiny! :)

GabrielYYZ
November 8th, 2010, 09:43 PM
are you using an IDE or just toughing it out with a basic text editor? to use a class i think you have to type:

import class.name;

and the class should be in the same location as the main class. i'm a newbie in java too and i'm more familiar with this in an IDE (i use netbeans, personally) maybe someone more advanced could be more helpful.

spjackson
November 8th, 2010, 09:53 PM
I am having some stupid problems with the very simple beginnings of using a class in Java. It happens on the line where I attempt to use the class... apparently it cant find the class.

Please look at these very small files attached.

PS: By very small I mean tiny! :)
You could tell us what errors you get!

These are the errors I get when I compile your code.

Tester.java:15: cannot find symbol
symbol : variable EasyIn
name = EasyIn.getString();
^
Tester.java:17: cannot find symbol
symbol : constructor Film(java.lang.String)
Film name1 = new Film(name);
^
2 errors
I've no idea what EasyIn is or where to find it. Presumably you do.

As for the second error, this is because Film has no constructor. Edit Film.java and add the constructor.

public Film(String nameIn)
{
name = nameIn;
}

trent.josephsen
November 9th, 2010, 03:23 AM
Not sure why you uploaded DOS .txt files, but you'll want to rename them as .java if you want to compile them.

zaheen
November 9th, 2010, 10:49 AM