PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Computer wont boot from usb.

plusle
November 8th, 2010, 01:28 PM
Hey, I'm currently running ubuntu 9.04 32 bits which I installed with my usb stick. Now the problem is when I try to boot Windows 7 from usb drive it won't boot. Have checked bios that removeable dev is prio 1 and I even tried to delete any other option then boot from usb.

Tried the usb stick on my HP desktop and it booted from the usb stick without any problems. I have an ATI motherboard and i'm quite new in linux so can't realy provide any information about the motherboard but I'll show a pic.

Don't know what i'm doing wrong since I can boot another computer with the usb stick.

Motherboard: http://data.fuskbugg.se/dipdip/motherboard.png

efflandt
November 8th, 2010, 02:46 PM
I don't quite understand what you are trying to do. Linux on USB should be able to boot itself from various computers as long as that computer is compatible with its default drivers or installed proprietary drivers, proper syslinux (for bootable iso) or grub (regular install) is on the mbr of the USB drive, and UUID's are used in /etc/fstab.

If you are trying to boot Win7 on your internal drive from USB with grub on it, you would first need to do sudo update-grub on that computer, because Win7 might boot from a different partition on different computers.

If you are trying to boot Win7 installed on a USB drive, that might only have drivers enabled for the particular computer it was installed from, and may not be able to boot from a different computer. So don't expect Win7 installed on USB to be able to boot on different computers. Even the wrong video resolution or refresh rate (or driver) could leave you with a dark screen, if it gets that far. And if it is OEM Windows for a particular manufacturer, it may not boot from another brand of computer because it may check the manufacturer ID.

plusle
November 8th, 2010, 03:06 PM