PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] new user with installation problems

agraebner
November 7th, 2010, 03:49 PM
my installation goes fine up to (EE) VESA : Kernel mode setting driver in use, refusing to load along with (EE) no devices detected. I have been a long time windows user but after seeing many good words about ubuntu I decided to give it a try before taking the windows 7 dive on 4 pcs. All my computers are home builds the one im trying the first install on is a pentium 4 on soyo P4I865PE Plus Dragon 2 board HIS agp version of HD 4670 video card. any help would be greatly appreciated since i have NO knowledge of this operating system. I am using wubi to install from a downloaded iso image im using version 10.4 the long term support version. If i do the restart X option everything seems to come up fine but i would like to make sure everything's working correctly as I'm judging whether to use this on other computers.

P4man
November 7th, 2010, 03:59 PM
You are not getting that error message during the install are you? I guess you mean you installed ubuntu, and you get that error when you boot it?

Have you installed the proprietary ATI drivers ?

Anyway, check my signature for possible cause and solution. However, Im not sure its exactly accurate for wubi, I havent used wubi in ages and I recommend strongly against it for anything but a quick trial (which might be the case here).

If you have installed the ATI drivers, you might want to try opening a terminal and typing

sudo aticonfig --initial

agraebner
November 8th, 2010, 08:46 PM