PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 10.04 freezes randomly

AGue
November 7th, 2010, 12:42 PM
Hey..

I have been using ubuntu 10.04 since around May, June.
During last month it started to freeze randomly, either right after boot, or at no particular moment, some other times while searching for wireless network, or when just idling.. I don't remember this happening after any particular system change aswell.

I have little linux knowledge, for all i know there could be something on kernel log ($dmesg) but after booting up again (after system freezing) that log is filled up with boot-info so i can't really check anything.

System info:
RAM: 3GB
Graphics: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650
CPU: Intel core i3 M 330 @ 2.13GHz

May i get some help in here please? Thanks in advance!

mziskandar
November 7th, 2010, 01:00 PM
Try disable the apic. (noapic)
how-to: http://digitalspine.blogspot.com/2010/11/ubuntu-lucid-1004-freezeslock-ups.html

Let me know the result either its working for you.

Thanks.

AGue
November 7th, 2010, 02:23 PM
I followed that guide and let the computer idling (not working on it now) for about an hour already since then. So far so good, didn't freeze :P

I'll still reply here either it works or not, during the week.
I notice this disables hyper-threading in cpu. Do new versions (10.10... and next ones, if known) have this issue with hyper-threading? Disabling hardware functionality is not an elegant solution, although i won't need it in the near future so i won't complain :)

Thank you for the quick answer, mziskandar!

mziskandar
November 7th, 2010, 02:31 PM
Try "nolapic" instead of "noapic". Lets see how it goes..

AGue
November 8th, 2010, 02:16 PM
The "noapic" seems to have solved the issue, but if i'm wrong about that i'll keep in mind to try "nolapic" instead, if it'll still freeze.
I don't think the difference between noapic and nolapic would affect me (as long as the OS won't freeze of course) even though i don't fully understand those.