PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 10.10 Update Manager has started wanting Admin password

Nick Payne
November 6th, 2010, 12:06 AM
Fresh install of 10.10 amd64 from about a week ago. The last two days, update Manager has started asking, I think, for the admin password as well as my password to install updates. When I check my user properties, I'm still a member of group admin and still allowed to administer the system.

What happens when I attempt to install updates is that I get the normal authentication dialog asking for my password, but when I enter the password and click the authenticate button, I immediately get another authentication dialog containing the same text and Cancel and Authenticate buttons, but this dialog has no field in which a password can be entered. When I look at details, the requested action is "org.debian.apt.upgrade-packages". Clicking either Authenticate or Cancel in this dialog does nothing - it just stays there. However, if I close it using the "X" in its title bar, Update Manager then starts (and succeeds) in installing the updates.

oscurochu
November 9th, 2010, 03:17 AM
I have this same issue. Just installed ubuntu today. I had to do updates from the terminal because I couldn't figure out how to get the authentication dialog to go away without force quitting.

As stated in the previous post though, clicking the X does work! That was one thing I didn't try until I found this post (thanks btw).

Thanks.

psusi
November 9th, 2010, 03:23 AM
+1

blackSP
December 3rd, 2010, 10:48 AM
Any news on this super annoying issue?
Used to work fine without password until 10.10!

So
userid ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL
no longer works

blackSP
December 5th, 2010, 01:34 PM
This is a seriously quite thread. Nobody any follow-up on this issue?

nsahoo
December 7th, 2010, 06:12 PM
I am surprised more people are not bothered by this. Don't they update machine everyday?

nsahoo
December 7th, 2010, 06:46 PM