View Full Version : 5.1, no sound in front left and right

November 4th, 2010, 09:44 PM
Basically as the title suggests.
I'm a linux noob, I've spent a few hour's looking around, but all I seem to be finding is people with problems of no sound, and so I dont know if the solution would be the same.

I have perfect sound from the rear speakers, the front centre, and the sub, but the front left and right are completely silent.

Things I think anyone may need to know
Mobo - GA-880GM-UD2H
Onboard sound - SBx00 Azalia Intel HDA
Ubuntu 10.10 x64

Thanks for any help, all advice in lamens terms please =)

November 4th, 2010, 11:33 PM
Using what program or programs, playing what source material? Also: what version of Ubuntu?

Does it work with another OS? If not, how are the speakers driven?

Did you install the "restricted extras"?

November 5th, 2010, 12:06 AM
I'm using totem movie player for videos, random AVI's that are 5.1 under windows, and the standard sound manager to sort out preferences, the speaker test function there showss the same problem, everything except the front sides.

After a bit more searching, I realised that the device manager I was using may have given me wrong info about the sound card, which is actually a Realtek ALC892 chip.

All works under windows 7, the speakers are 3 connected via 3 3.5mm headphone style plugs, I'm running Ubuntu 10.10 and installed the restricted extras, hope that heps

November 5th, 2010, 07:36 PM
By Googling: ALC892 Linux, I found the following:
"clicking on the speaker icon, then sound preferences, then Hardware, then Internal Audio, then Settings for the selected device I get all the expected options up to 5.1 Analog (no 6.1 or 7.1) plus digital stereo out and digital stereo duplex (two way)."

Please let me know if this works for you.

November 5th, 2010, 10:36 PM