PDA

View Full Version : Should I Buy New Macbook Air?

ngkong
November 3rd, 2010, 07:31 AM
I've been using ubuntu for 2 years. I'm a web developer (php, mysql, html, css, javascript, photoshop). currently using 10.04 with dualscreens, one monitor mostly used for virtualbox to boot windows xp, running photoshop and IE.

my current laptop is running under celeron processor, it's best time to upgrade. i'm interested in new macbook air for its incredible size and battery time. im gonna do travel alot, i plan to go for europe backpacking next year. i've just got my diving license and i won't waste it by doing nothing. it means size and battery do really matter, and those are the only reasons i want to go for mac. i've never used a mac in my whole life. last time i saw my friend's imac, i could not even find the power button. i know nothing about mac.

so what do you guys suggest? should I go new macbook air? is it programmer friendly? if not, what laptop do you suggest for it's size/weight and battery life?

ideally, i need only a good text editor, ftp, ssh, browser, photoshop, apache server and a video player when i get bored but nothing to do.

t0p
November 3rd, 2010, 07:37 AM
No. It's wonderfully light, thin etc, but it's seriously overpriced.

Islington
November 3rd, 2010, 07:44 AM
This is just a personal policy but I never buy first gen tech, you end up in the best case scenario overpaying for the cool factor, and in the worst case scenario end up being a beta tester.

As for laptops, I recommend a thinkpad, awesome build quality and generally great linux support. I have never owned a macbook, but I hear they are also good build quality. :)

TNT1
November 3rd, 2010, 07:49 AM

+1.

Get more bang for your buck with a dell or hp. (oh, yes, or a thinkpad)

handy
November 3rd, 2010, 08:14 AM
I'd buy either a 13" Macbook, or 13" Macbook Pro, due to their superior performance, & most especially due to their vastly superior battery time.