PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't boot Ubuntu after install

Creain
November 2nd, 2010, 10:49 AM
Hi there.

I ran the installation from a CD, and the install works just fine. The PC reboots and starts loading Ubuntu. Just after splash screen I login, and then I get the standard background with my mouse cursor. Nothing else happens. I can move the cursor around, but can't do anything and there's nothing to click.
Browsing the forum I see that there is an issue with usernames with capital letters, but there was no such in the installation, though Ubuntu writes the username with the first letter in caps at the login screen.

Anyone know what the problem might be?

EDIT: I might want to add that I'm fairly new to Linux, I do know some of the basic shell commands though.

mörgæs
November 2nd, 2010, 09:22 PM
Hi, welcome to the forum.

You might need to add boot options:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/LiveCDBootOptions

Creain
November 2nd, 2010, 11:22 PM
Thank you for the answer. Didnt know about those :)
Since I wrote I tried running it live, but nothing happens there either. I will try the boot options and see if it gets me anywhere.

Creain
November 3rd, 2010, 01:18 AM
Tried some boot options, but without luck.
Logged on in safe mode(on it right now) and it all works fine, but still can't logon regularly.

tommcd
November 3rd, 2010, 03:19 AM
What version of Ubuntu are you using?
What boot options have you tried?
What video card do you have?
From the live CD, hit F6 when the CD boots, and try the options listed in that grey-colored box that are listed in the tutorial that was linked to in post #2 in this thread. They are listed under "F6" in that tutorial. Try each of the options, one at a time.
You can omit the "Free software only" option.

Creain
November 3rd, 2010, 10:36 AM
Im using Ubuntu Desktop 10.10.
I tried acpi=off and the one after. The rest I don't know much or anything about, so avoided those for now.
My video card is an ATI Radeon X1900XT.

tommcd