PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Can't get gdm working after nvidia driver install

extremejosh
November 2nd, 2010, 02:54 AM
OK ill first say that im still a Linux noob so really would like the help and also i posted this problem a while ago but i have new info and i think i posted in wrong section last time. I recently downloaded and installed Ubuntu 10.10. I thought it was awesome...still do. OK, the problem is i was prompted to install some proprietary drivers and so i did but thats when the problems started. After reboot i couldn't get the GUI or gdm (not sure what to refer it to) to work. It goes directly to a terminal screen every time so i actually reinstalled Ubuntu and tried installing the drivers all different ways but no luck. i also can get into recovery mode and do low graphics. the driver version im trying to get working is nvidia 260.19.12. my graphics card is a geforce 7 series cant remember the number i have a 32bit processor. so i hope someone can help me with this problem still real new to Linux and im totally lost as to what to do

nicoelba
November 2nd, 2010, 08:50 AM
HI!
I'm using the recovery mode too, cause on last upgrading from 10.04 to 10.10 my old Nvidia GeForce3 can't work. With linx I was using driver nvidia 96, and now I can see that I'm using the current.
How to fix the xorg.conf for using this driver also on the normal boot?
It's not a problem using Compiz or enabling the desktop effects, I can survive also without them, but every time I switch on the PC I have to choose the recovery mode from the grub menu..
Thanks for help!

alexandari
November 2nd, 2010, 09:30 AM
Well ok then,why don't you run recovery mode and choose to fix X? I mean,this will revert things the old way. And my advice is to install the drivers from the "Hardware Drivers" ,so that you wouldnt have problems with such things (ok well you can but,you shouldnt)