PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wont connect through router (wired)



Demijinx
November 2nd, 2010, 12:37 AM
Hey Im trying to setup Ubuntu for my buddy. After talking it up for ages of course i get a problem ive never seen be for :(. He is running 10.10 (or whatever the newest is lol) and when running windows it hooks up to the internet just fine through the router. however in ubuntu it will only connect when i plug it directly into the modem. Here is some more info

jake@jake-Dell-DXP061:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:76:b6:67:e0
inet6 addr: fe80::216:76ff:feb6:67e0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1698068 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1205790 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:882455042 (882.4 MB) TX bytes:1262659539 (1.2 GB)
Interrupt:21 Memory:dffe0000-e0000000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1912 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1912 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:162056 (162.0 KB) TX bytes:162056 (162.0 KB)

jake@jake-Dell-DXP061:~$ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
jake@jake-Dell-DXP061:~$


Route gives no output. Kinda weird. router is Linksys Wireless G Broadband Router. WRT54G.

Please help! I dont want him running back to windows before he even gets into it.

Iowan
November 2nd, 2010, 02:05 AM
Interface (eth0) has no IP address - ifconfig -a will show all interfaces. You can check lshw -C network to see more about the interface. As a quick double-check, you can try sudo dhclient eth0. Worst case, you'll see something like "No DHCP offers... sleeping".

Demijinx
November 2nd, 2010, 05:00 AM
Interface (eth0) has no IP address - ifconfig -a will show all interfaces. You can check lshw -C network to see more about the interface. As a quick double-check, you can try sudo dhclient eth0. Worst case, you'll see something like "No DHCP offers... sleeping".

Here is what it spit out

jake@jake-Dell-DXP061:~$ sudo dhclient eth0
[sudo] password for jake:
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.3
Copyright 2004-2009 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth0/00:16:76:b6:67:e0
Sending on LPF/eth0/00:16:76:b6:67:e0
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 15
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 20
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 2
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
jake@jake-Dell-DXP061:~$ ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:76:b6:67:e0
inet6 addr: fe80::216:76ff:feb6:67e0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1861110 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1248046 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:949860667 (949.8 MB) TX bytes:1268180497 (1.2 GB)
Interrupt:21 Memory:dffe0000-e0000000

eth0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:76:b6:67:e0
inet addr:169.254.10.33 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:21 Memory:dffe0000-e0000000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:2048 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2048 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:173572 (173.5 KB) TX bytes:173572 (173.5 KB)

jake@jake-Dell-DXP061:~$ ^C
jake@jake-Dell-DXP061:~$



Any thoughts?

Demijinx
November 2nd, 2010, 09:13 PM
Bumpity bump bump.

Demijinx
November 6th, 2010, 12:25 AM
Okay, I fixed it. not the right way but it works. I reinstalled Ubuntu and it works now.