PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NTFS resizing

Uruk-hai
November 1st, 2010, 08:22 PM
I was wondering if there is any easy way to resize my NTFS partion. Is there an easy way of doing this with a program or some kind command? I'm very new at this so use basic terms please...lol.
thanks all. ;)

Hippytaff
November 1st, 2010, 08:33 PM
You can do it with a programme called Gparted from a live CD, but back everything up first because things can go wrong :-)

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/

zvacet
November 1st, 2010, 08:33 PM
Boot your Ubuntu live CD and under system start gparted.With it resize partition.You can add unallocated space to ubuntu partition.

NertSkull
November 1st, 2010, 08:35 PM
If you have ubuntu installed and the NTFS drive is just another mounted drive (i.e. the windows mount). You don't even need to use a live CD. GParted is in the repositories and is a great little tool.

But yeah, definitely back up everything first.

Uruk-hai
November 1st, 2010, 08:52 PM
If you have ubuntu installed and the NTFS drive is just another mounted drive (i.e. the windows mount). You don't even need to use a live CD. GParted is in the repositories and is a great little tool.

But yeah, definitely back up everything first.

Why would I need to back everything up first? Is it possable that I could loose my stuff? Or will it just wipe it anyway?
Also. How do I use this program gparted? Is it idiot proof or is it for crazy linux people?

sandyd
November 1st, 2010, 09:07 PM
Why would I need to back everything up first? Is it possable that I could loose my stuff? Or will it just wipe it anyway?
Also. How do I use this program gparted? Is it idiot proof or is it for crazy linux people?

because whenever you mess with partitions, something bad can possibly happen.

its quite easy.
First, install gparted.

sudo apt-get install gparted
gksudo gparted

Second, choose the partition (mind you, choose the right one!)
right click it and choose resize.