PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ububtu not reconising other OS

Chazz44able
October 31st, 2010, 06:25 PM
I'm new to Linux, so please be simple. i just downloaded Ubuntu 10.10 onto a USB key and am attempting to instsll it next to Windows XP. The Ubuntu install wizard has giot to the point where i have already chosen my language and asked it to install upgrades as well, when i click "Foward" it only displays two options:
1) Erase and use entire disk
2) Specify partition manually

It is supossed to give the option to "Install along side other operating systems". This option is not being shown -si what do i do? thanks for your help in advance

wilee-nilee
November 1st, 2010, 07:47 PM
You want to resize the XP partition leaving a open space for Ubuntu to begin with. You can resize with gparted on the live cd, but defragg and make sure the XP partition is in good shape not needing any chkdsk run beforehand. After resizing the XP partition reboot it to make sure it is still working before installing Ubuntu.

So there is a install alongside option for dual booting you will use that I believe, and the open space left after resizing XP is Ubuntu destination.
http://news.softpedia.com/news/Installing-Ubuntu-10-10-160966.shtml

Here is a picture of gparted on my dual boot set up if this helps.

Last of all have everything backed up and have the ability to do a full reinstall of XP if needed, you really want to be prepared for anything. Most of the time everything goes fine but always being prepared for the worse possible situation, has kept me safe.

Chazz44able
November 1st, 2010, 09:12 PM
I can partition it manually, but I don't want to do that, as I'll almost certainly end up mucking it up! If the option to run the two OS' side-by-side is available in the Ubuntu install menu, I would far prefer to use that. So i suppose that what I'm really saying is that it want to try to work out how to get the option to "Install along side other operating systems" back

Quackers