PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "Is Ubuntu 10.10 worth all the installation hassle I am having?

Sunlight Dreamweaver
October 31st, 2010, 03:58 PM
Hallo(w) to All on All Hallo(w)s Evening [HallowE'en]

To who ever it may concern
Dear Sir or Madam

I am a relative newbie to computing having only started just two years ago.

Up until today I have been using Windows Vista, but having come across the refreshing open source, creative commons and free software foundations that are much closer to my heart's way of thinking I decided to download and install Ubuntu as a prerequisite to switching completely away from paid for operating systems and software.

In order to do this I firstly purchased a new 1Gb hard drive and installed it alongside my factory installed 250Gb hard drive with the windows factory image etc on it.

I then partitioned the new drive with 30Gb for Ubuntu, another 300Gb for any future backups (Yes I know it's a lot) from my separate Windows Vista OS 250Gb hard drive, which left 600Gb spare.

I got up early today a Sunday morning at 0500hrs to ensure I had plenty of download speed etc and that all would be done and dusted by the time I needed to be available today for family and community social commitments etc

However nothing has worked out in anyway like I would have expected it to or in anyway like Ubuntu's descriptions project, and I am typing this letter nearly 7 hours later and I have still not got Ubuntu properly installed as a dual boot system alongside my windows vista. In fact I am very surprised at the somewhat illogical and careless approach that the web pages take in explaining how to download and install Ubuntu.

Firstly I arrive at the webpage :

http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop

To be greeted with an introduction and a red download button to the right.

I click on this and end up on page:

http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download