PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu does not boot

JTU50
October 29th, 2010, 07:07 PM
I am totally new to Ubuntu. I am trying to install Ubuntu Server 10.10 on an old Compaq 700mHz with a 30GB HD, and at least 1MB RAM (dopn't remember exact amount). Downloaded iso file, extracted, burned to CD and installed from CD. All seemed to go well. When machine went to reboot after installation all I get is a flashing cursor " _ ". Tried repair broken install from CD - doesn't find anything wrong. Add'l info, computer has IDE drive, yet when I try to list files (ls) after booting from CD all that is listed are sda drives. Only thing I couldn't do was set up network - need to get a new NIC.

Suggestions please.

Jeff

peyre
October 29th, 2010, 07:45 PM
First thought, why not try a desktop version of Ubuntu? You could even try a lightweight version like Xubuntu or even Lubuntu (though Lubuntu 10.10 makes Wine crash on my system). If you're new to Ubuntu, a GUI might help lower the learning curve--but more importantly, you might have success with a desktop version if the server version is choking on you.

avtolle
October 29th, 2010, 07:50 PM
I am totally new to Ubuntu. I am trying to install Ubuntu Server 10.10 on an old Compaq 700mHz with a 30GB HD, and at least 1MB RAM (dopn't remember exact amount). Downloaded iso file, extracted, burned to CD and installed from CD. All seemed to go well. When machine went to reboot after installation all I get is a flashing cursor " _ ". Tried repair broken install from CD - doesn't find anything wrong. Add'l info, computer has IDE drive, yet when I try to list files (ls) after booting from CD all that is listed are sda drives. Only thing I couldn't do was set up network - need to get a new NIC.

Suggestions please.

Jeff
Well, if you indeed extracted from the iso then that is likely part of the problem. Just burn as an image without extraction, and give it another try.

JTU50
October 30th, 2010, 01:21 AM