PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Using virtual magnifying glass?

bloodshot13
October 29th, 2010, 02:17 AM
I have ubuntu 10.04 and I installed a package "virtual magnifying glass" that I saw on another post.- http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=628741. I've gone in Assistive technologies(enabled assistive technologies)>Preferred Applications>Selected GNOME Magnifiyer without screen reader(I guess this is the program I downloaded) and enabled run and start.. I restarted my computer but I don't see a magnifier? Hope this post is clear as I am new to ubuntu. Any help would be appreciated. :)

bloodshot13
November 9th, 2010, 02:34 AM
I've found that I can run vmg in terminal but I have to keep term. open to use it. Is there a way I can keep vmg on my panel w/o running it w/ term.?:-\" I use this program to read articles whilst I sit back in my chair. When I'm using vmg(looking at articles,news, ect.) it sometimes crashes ubuntu and starts back to login!? Think maybe my processor or video card is not capable of handling such a program?

description: CPU
product: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
product: 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
version: 02
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
description: VGA compatible controller
product: 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
version: 02
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz

robsoles
November 30th, 2010, 12:08 PM
Hi-ya, sorry I didn't stray across your thread sooner, I've been distracted.

You can make a command continue and release the command line by invoking it in the background. Assuming the command is vmg;
user@ubuntu:~$ vmg &Will make it start and persist, until you use whatever it has to stop it, beyond the terminal window closing (provided your desktop session doesn't end either). It's possible to stop it from the terminal but that shouldn't be necessary.