PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mail Problem

viperce
September 28th, 2010, 08:29 AM
Hi all, I am new to Linux (complete noob) but i somehow managed to get squid proxy server installed.
My problem is my email in outlook express has stopped working (incomming pop3 server is mail.webmail.co.za)

I think i need to install a pop proxy to get this going, can someone recommend a pop proxy that is easy to configure or anything else that could resolve this

thanks

viperce
October 28th, 2010, 01:52 PM
Hi all,

I have installed Ubuntu server & set it up as a proxy server which is working fine,
only problem i am having now is my windows clients can not download from their gmail webmail & hotmail servers using Ms outlook. Could someone please help me with this i have no idea how to fix this.

I have 2 network cards eth0 internal lan <--- and eth1 --> router

ArgusVision
October 28th, 2010, 02:21 PM
Ok dumb starter question. Can they get to those sites with a browser? (They aren't blocked by any ACL's?) Also are SMTP, IMAP and/or POP3 blocked?

viperce
October 28th, 2010, 02:21 PM
Hi all,

I have installed Ubuntu server & set it up as a proxy server which is working fine,
only problem i am having now is my windows clients can not download from their gmail webmail & hotmail servers using Ms outlook. Could someone please help me with this i have no idea how to fix this.

I have 2 network cards eth0 internal lan <--- and eth1 --> router

If you dont know could someone steer me in the right direction..

s.fox
October 28th, 2010, 02:23 PM
Threads merged. Please do not create duplicate threads. Thank you.

viperce
October 28th, 2010, 02:29 PM
Yup can get into the sites no problem using the proxy server....
how do i check if SMTP, IMAP and/or POP3 blocked? i havint blocked them but im not sure if they blocked by default

ArgusVision
October 28th, 2010, 02:39 PM
You said you're using this as a proxy server, what proxy service are you useing? Squid perhaps?

viperce