PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] A strange problem! ubuntu hangs on my system

farzad_a
October 28th, 2010, 09:23 AM
Hi all my friends.
I'm glad to be a new member of this forum where I can share ideas with friends all over the world.
I'm a programmer, mostly MATLAB for relatively light and Fortran for heavy calculations. I switched from windows to ubuntu because of its greater speed. My programs in Fortran run about 2.5X faster on ubuntu! Recently, I got 2 new PCs in the research lab. Both are same in hardware:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T processor
BIOSTAR TA890GXE motherboard (onboard ATI VGA)
500 GB HDD

Installed on the systems are Windows 7 ultimate and ubuntu 10.04 LTS (both 64bit versions). Windows 7 works very well with ABSOLUTELY no problem. It has good speed and stability. All softwares work fine. On ubuntu, however, I have some strange problems which I cant find the cause. The system hangs in ubuntu very often. These are the usual events after which the system hangs:

when the system goes to screensaver, on resume a blank screen is displayed with the mouse cursor. All I can do is moving mouse, no keyboard shortcut works. The only way to get out is by pressing the power or reset button on case.
after a hangup, pressing the reset button reboots my system in a situation where no boot option is displayed!!! (A problem with grub, I think)
However, pressing the power button to power off and again to power on, restores the grub menu, which appears to be fine
Sometimes accessing the NTFS partitions on my disk (windows partitions) may cause a crash and I receive an error like this "Read-Only File System" after which nothing works. after reboot an automatic disk checkup resolves the problem.