PDA

View Full Version : Arch Linux, RAM

hizaguchi
April 15th, 2006, 04:49 PM
Ok, so I installed Arch Linux on a whim the other night. It's been an, umm, educational experience since I'm pretty new to Linux, but I've got Xorg going and all of my basic stuff working. So I started up Fluxbox and did "free -m" and saw that I'm only using 20 megs of RAM to run my basic desktop, while Fluxbox in Ubuntu uses like 65.

So my question is, what is the reason for this fairly huge difference? Is it the fact that I still havn't gotten a bunch of stuff working, like openGL and the right drivers for most things? Once I get those loading will the memory usage be closer to Ubuntu? Or are there some things in Ubuntu that I could take out to knock its resourse usage down closer to Arch?

I like Ubuntu better so far. Apt is faster and easier (for me, anyhow) than pacman. Plus I've got ALOT of configuring left to do to get everything working the way Ubuntu does automatically. Its worth it if I can still end up using such little memory, but if Arch is just going to end up being ram hungry too once I get the basic stuff completely working then I'd might as well just reinstall Ubuntu.

Anybody more experienced that can help me understand where my ram is going in Ubuntu?

endersshadow
April 15th, 2006, 05:00 PM
It may be that you're looking at Virtual Memory in Ubuntu and Residential Memory in Arch (Residential Memory is accurate in terms of actual memory used by that process). Also, your Arch installation probably is bare bones right now, so you don't have all sorts of shared libraries loaded up and all that. I've installed Arch on another partition, as well, and it's certainly educational :)

hizaguchi
April 15th, 2006, 11:05 PM