PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't log in to Ubuntu. TTY???

FrozenFlame22
October 26th, 2010, 02:02 AM
I recently did a fresh reformat and install of Ubuntu 10.10 and Windows XP on my 3 year old computer. After a couple of days of failed installs (the CD installer would hang and crash), I got a good install and got to work setting up my computer. Today, I was in the middle of transferring 15 GB of data between two hard drives and I needed to leave the computer running to finish the transfer. When I came back home, I had a black screen that read:

Ubuntu 10.10 Erebor tty1
Erebor login:

Erebor is my computer name. I am a complete novice when it comes to Linux and I have never heard of tty. Rebooting the computer brings it back to the same screen. I tried the passwords for the three users for the computer and nothing works. I have been able to start the recovery console and I selected repair broken packages, but that doesn't change that it still boots into this tty login. I have no idea how to log in or how to get my gui working again once I am logged in. Help?!

Right now the only thing I know to do is to start from scratch again and reinstall from the live CD, but that was such a fiddly procedure that I don't want to go through the 20+ tries to reinstall it again.

Edited to Add: I tried booting into Windows XP, but it just gives me a black screen. I'm really lost here on what might be the problem. Any ideas? Is there any more information I can add?

FrozenFlame22
October 26th, 2010, 05:33 AM
Bump.

Is this the right forum for this question? Should I try a different one?

akand074
October 26th, 2010, 05:55 AM
Weird problem, not sure what caused it, but try logging in through the command line when you get to that point and then once your logged in run this command:

sudo service gdm start

That should start your graphic user interface.. not sure why its not already.

msandoy
October 26th, 2010, 06:02 AM