PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Random White Screen

oh beakes
October 25th, 2010, 11:18 PM
Hi,
I'm new to ubuntu but I've installed ubuntu 10.10 on my desktop and it seems to work fine. But it keeps freezing up on me (sometimes a solid white screen, other times with vertical lines on a white background) and then becomes non-responsive. Sometimes there is a small (about 1in) square where the mouse was when it froze.

I have a fairly old computer (emachines T6522). Is there something I can do to keep it from crashing?

sikander3786
October 26th, 2010, 12:22 AM
Hi and Welcome to the forums :popcorn:

Which graphics card have you got? Did you install proprietary drivers for you card? Please provide you hardware specs as well.

Are you using compiz?

For troubleshooting on X freezes, see this page.

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Troubleshooting/Freeze

oh beakes
October 26th, 2010, 02:54 PM
CPU : AMD Athlon™ 64 3500+ Processor
Chipset : RS480 chipset
Memory : 1024MB DDR (2 × 512MB)
Hard Drive : 200GB HDD
Video : ATI Radeon™® Xpress 200 (PCI-Express®®)
128MB DDR shared video memory

I reformatted and installed 10.10 on it, and haven't done anything else (I don't really know what I'm doing with it). Is there anything else I need to get this running?

sikander3786
October 27th, 2010, 11:54 PM
If you haven't installed the graphics drivers, installing them might solve the problem. Look under System > Administration > Additional Drivers and install the current version.

oh beakes
October 28th, 2010, 02:16 AM
When I open up the additional drivers option I simply get a window telling me that "no proprietary drivers are in use on this system."

Do I need to find the driver somewhere online before it will come up there?

Thanks for your help.

aofc
October 31st, 2010, 10:27 PM