PDA

View Full Version : Noobs like me

vsbladz
October 25th, 2010, 07:53 PM
Hi All,
This is directed more towards the Ubuntu itself then anyone else.
I count myself a total noob. Yet I just love my Linux. I am making everything possible to make myself confortable in Linux.
However I do have one gripe though. About a month ago, I installed Ubuntu 10.04. Was very happy....Everything went well. Very very slick...until one night...my wife and I decided to watch a movie. And that's when my mind just went hay-way....
I was extremely upset ( yeah I will take the blame) I did not have internet connection and just couldn't load the video codecs....Yes...Ubuntu did not come will all codecs loaded.
That was a put-off for me.
Instantly I installed Linux Mint 9 and everything Worked....Just freakin' WORKED!....
My ONLY humble request to Ubuntu is, please, gaddamit please...Install ALL codecs so these noobs (Such as myself) will not have second thought on going back to Windows.
I did not since I windows make me sick to my gut.
So....If you want market share, make it painless as possible for noobs please...
But above all....I still love Linux!!!

Hippytaff
October 25th, 2010, 08:01 PM
Some drivers and codecs might be excluded because they are proprietary, therefore not strictly speaking 'freeware' So we have an option on linux to be completely freeware or freeware with proprietary stuff (I go with the latter) but there is a linux legal/ethical undercurrent to all this :-)

Gone fishing
October 25th, 2010, 08:02 PM
The reason Ubuntu doesn't come with the codecs is legal (dvdcss for e.g.) - Mints legality is probably questionable in some jurisdictions Ubuntu's is not and their are also GPL licence problems with proprietary software.

Don't get me wrong I think Mint is great and hell will freeze before its illegal in Lesotho.

LowSky
October 25th, 2010, 08:05 PM
Hi welcome to the forums.