PDA

View Full Version : [C] Writing into full pipes

KdotJ
October 24th, 2010, 09:31 PM
Hey guys, I'm new to C programming and playing around with a few things, I also have a book which I'm teaching myself from. I have been looking a system calls (such as fork(), pipe() etc).

Now I understand that a pipe has a buffer capacity and you cannot write into a full pipe... So I have been looking at way to catch this, but I'm not having much luck.

Say I have a pipe that is never read from, how to I check I can't write to it anymore? I would have thought the code below would work but the program just hangs. I know that write() returns the number of bytes written (Am I correct?) and one of the parameters is the bytes to be written (Am I correct again?), so therefor, if the return value for write() is not equal to the size of the expected bytes to be written, then the following loop should break...

while (write(descriptor, (char *)&i, sizeof(i)) == sizeof(i)) {
/* do stuff here */
}

(take all other variables as being valid here). Am I missing something simple here? does the program just hang waiting for the pipe to have space?

I also realise I am completely wrong. So any help is appreciated.

jpkotta
October 24th, 2010, 09:43 PM
Hey guys, I'm new to C programming and playing around with a few things, I also have a book which I'm teaching myself from. I have been looking a system calls (such as fork(), pipe() etc).

Now I understand that a pipe has a buffer capacity and you cannot write into a full pipe... So I have been looking at way to catch this, but I'm not having much luck.