PDA

View Full Version : PHP and MySQL O'Reilly online courses: waste of money?

jocampo
October 23rd, 2010, 03:32 PM
Hi all,

I am thinking in taking one of the O'Reilly online courses for PHP or maybe the one for MySQL. They are not so cheap, about $400.00 each one and to be certified you must complete four.

Comments, anyone? I am an experienced MS-SQL dba but would like to expand my knowledge with PHP or MySQL; kind of an additional stuff to put on my resume but with more weight than a common MySQL or PHP certification.

The courses are supported by University of Illinois Office of Continuing Education.

Thanks in advance,

perspectoff
October 23rd, 2010, 03:41 PM
Univ of Illinois at Urbana Champaign is a class organization.

Since the original Mozilla web browser was developed there and it was one of the first three supercomputer centers in the US, there clearly is a lot of computer expertise there.

O'Reilly has been the premiere tech book company for a few decades, now. You probably get as much information reading one of their books (on the subjects you want to learn), but if you want to learn in an environment where you can ask questions interactively, well, isn't that what schools are for in the first place (whether online or in a classroom?)

Anyone can struggle through learning most things on their own. So your question is, as always, do you want accelerated learning for the money, or do you have more time and less money?

jocampo
October 23rd, 2010, 03:48 PM
Univ of Illinois at Urbana Champaign is a class organization.

Since the original Mozilla web browser was developed there and it was one of the first three supercomputer centers in the US, there clearly is a lot of computer expertise there.