PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Any Idea why?!

Unknown201
October 20th, 2010, 08:52 PM
Hey Newbie here ..
I am trying to install the latest version of Ubuntu linux but the same thing happens if I try installing it while logged in to windows 7 or by running LiveCD before Windows runs!
After the CD boots it gives me choices and I choose Install, it freezes for 2 mints then it shows writtings and the last line says: Kernal thread help....
I have Toshiba C650-129, Any idea how to do this?!
I tried installing the same CD on a desktop and it worked without any issue ...
If anyone can help me please ...

UnterUn
October 20th, 2010, 09:40 PM
Just an idea but have you got the right architecture? Most laptops these days seem to be 32bit while desktops are mostly (but not always) 64bit so that might be the problem. (I had a similar problem when i tried to install 32bit Linux on 64bit windows, didn't seem to like it very much - after all Live CDs are run within windows, so i presume architectures important, but i wouldn't be certain)

Unknown201
October 21st, 2010, 04:15 AM
Just an idea but have you got the right architecture? Most laptops these days seem to be 32bit while desktops are mostly (but not always) 64bit so that might be the problem. (I had a similar problem when i tried to install 32bit Linux on 64bit windows, didn't seem to like it very much - after all Live CDs are run within windows, so i presume architectures important, but i wouldn't be certain)

well I tried both 32bit and 64bit and the same problem happened.
while on my desktop I installed the 32bit of ubuntu while using 64bit of THE SAME VERSION OF WINDOWS 7, I installed it on my desktop and laptop.

UnterUn
October 21st, 2010, 08:31 AM
well I tried both 32bit and 64bit and the same problem happened.
while on my desktop I installed the 32bit of ubuntu while using 64bit of THE SAME VERSION OF WINDOWS 7, I installed it on my desktop and laptop.