PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Transistioning from Windows to Ubuntu

firefoxtamer
October 18th, 2010, 10:37 PM
This is my first time posting to the forum here and I am not even sure if I am posting in the right spot or not. Please forgive me if I am not. I am in the process of writing a book that helps transition Windows users into the world of Linux and Ubuntu. Most of the stuff that I have seen on various forums around the world is pretty much just flaming users of the Windows operating system, and telling them that they are inferior. While in my opinion Ubuntu is a superior operating system, I do not feel it is right, or decent to belittle and curse someone out just because they like something different. I feel like an educational guide is in order. Something that would help users of other operating systems make a more educated and wiser transition to Linux and to Ubuntu. I have begun writing a comprehensive guide to do just that. Being a former Windows user myself I know how intimidating ones first experiences with Linux can be (I think almost every user here used Windows prior to Linux or Ubuntu.) My goal is to educate them, and teach users how to use their new operating system without being flamed or taunted on message boards for simply asking a "noob" question which almost everyone of us has been at one time or another. So far I have gotten roughly 20 pages completed in the manual and will probably have a little over 200 by the end of the document. What I am looking for is feedback on the document. To see if it would be easy to follow for a recent Linux convert. I have included a download link (for the PDF file) in this post as well. I appreciate all user input. Thank you for your time.

Download PDF
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=OC9LYDQE
(http://www.megaupload.com/?d=YEZZJHM7)

oldfred
October 18th, 2010, 11:14 PM
Welcome to the forums.