PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie problem installing D-Link DWL-G510

orchardstreet
October 18th, 2010, 09:42 PM
Greetings. I'm new to Linux and wireless so bear with me. I have installed Ubuntu (10.4) on a friends machine. The install was great, no problems. I plugged the machine into my wired network and it connected immediately. However my friend has a wireless network.......... I did some research on the forums and found that a D-Link DWL-G510 card was supported and I think the page said "works out of the box"

Having purchased the card I read the install guide. It cautioned against plugging the card in until the CD had been inserted and the wizard started. When I inserted the CD nothing happened other than an icon appearing on the desktop (no Auto run?) I clicked the icon to see the contents of the CD. I could click on various .exe's but all I got was an error message each time.

"Archive: /media/DWL-G510/DWL-G510.exe
[/media/DWL-G510/DWL-G510.exe]
End-of-central-directory signature not found. Either this file is not
a zipfile, or it constitutes one disk of a multi-part archive. In the
latter case the central directory and zipfile comment will be found on
the last disk(s) of this archive.
zipinfo: cannot find zipfile directory in one of /media/DWL-G510/DWL-G510.exe or
/media/DWL-G510/DWL-G510.exe.zip, and cannot find /media/DWL-G510/DWL-G510.exe.ZIP, period."

However the CD is not faulty as I tried it on my Windows 7 PC and everything was fine.

I could not find a way to enable auto run in Linux. My question is: should I ignore the manual and just install the card and see what happens? Under Windows this would bring up the "found new hardware" wizard and install the drivers automatically, what happens under Linux?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

chili555
October 19th, 2010, 04:01 AM
Please see here: http://www.linuxquestions.org/hcl/showproduct.php/product/2115/cat/133

There are apparently three versions of this card. Please install the card and run: